@nhsportspage Twitter Feed
Top posting users this month


Official call in North Londonderry game

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Official call in North Londonderry game

Post  goldenbear on Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:11 am

A shot went up was on the rim and Martinez for Londonderry slapped the back board, the refs T'ed him up and gave North two shots but they did not count the basket. I am pretty sure it should have been basket interference because the ball was on the cylinder,

What is anyone else take

goldenbear
All-State
All-State

Posts : 371
Join date : 2009-10-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Official call in North Londonderry game

Post  Tuesday and Friday on Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:08 am

It seems there was a lot going on with that one play. It could've been the ref's discretion that the slap of the backboard had no bearing with the time sequence of the ball being on the cylinder or it could've happened so fast they didn't have visual evidence of it.


Below is the rule and section from the Case Book concerning slapping the backboard.


Here is the rule:


SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:

ART. 4 . . . Illegally contact the backboard/ring by:
a. Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.
b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.



From the Case Book:

CONTACTING THE BACKBOARD
10.3.4 SITUATION: A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block
the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket;
or (b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does
not enter the basket. RULING: In (a) legal and the basket counts; and (b) a technical
foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket. COMMENT: The purpose of the
rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is
involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who
strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt
to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed
a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-6.

Tuesday and Friday
Moderator

Posts : 3866
Join date : 2009-10-12

Back to top Go down

Re: Official call in North Londonderry game

Post  Tuesday and Friday on Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:13 am

One thing to remember is the lead official (one watching the contact play closest to the basket on the baseline) is watching for contact and not the cylinder. The trail official (ref on the outside of the arc who's responsibility it is to watch for basket interference in this instance) also could've been looking at 2 players making contact away from the ball just as the ball was on the cylinder before, during or after the slap of the backboard.

Like I said - A lot going on.

Tuesday and Friday
Moderator

Posts : 3866
Join date : 2009-10-12

Back to top Go down

Re: Official call in North Londonderry game

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum